Restarting my blog

angelosHello everyone in this – from its very beginning – very promising and interesting online course. My name is Angelos and I teach ICT in a secondary school and I am also an online tutor at the Master of Arts in Digital Technologies for Language Teaching at the UoN. I have extensive experience in developing and maintaining blogs and websites on web 2.0 services, so this first task was not particularly challenging on this front for me. However, there are some issues that need attention on blog development and I have to say that I am always challenged when I have to deal with them. I explain in more detail below.

I consider that there are two areas that need attention when developing a blog: the technological and the structure/content area. With the tools provided nowadays, I think that the technological area is rather easy for anyone to master (speaking for the basic level of handling and maintaining a blog – not for creating the design of the blog with HTML, Javascript, etc.). This is not to say, of course, that learners do not need guidance and help in understanding the technicalities of setting up a blog. It is just that the “real” challenge for the learner begins after this. What template/design and widgets serve better my needs? What to include/write in a blog, in what way and how to organize my content? These questions take quite long time to answer and are under negotiation during the first weeks/months.

So, back to my personal blog/portfolio. I initiated this blog since 3-4 years, but never really used it. I think that the main reason is that I have not decided yet for the purpose that it will serve and for the content that it will present. I think that this course is an excellent opportunity for me to deal with these issues again.

Looking forward to collaborate with you,

Angelos

Associate teacher at the Master of Arts in Digital Technologies for Language Teaching at the University of Nottingham

Tagged with: ,
Posted in My posts
2 comments on “Restarting my blog
  1. eslclaudie says:

    Lucky you to have created it before! I have other blog “diaries” from other courses from a couple of years ago (eslclaudie@blogspot.com). I seem to remember that Blogster was simpler and it was easier to find templates but that may be that I don’t remember how difficult it was. And yes – after the initial set up it is the content that makes or breaks a blog. 🙂

  2. angelntini says:

    Thanks Eslclaudie 🙂 Indeed, developing a blog on blogger is easier, but wordpress allows more widgets and there is a larger community of people who develop templates for wordpress blogs. I see that you managed to create yours 🙂 Kudos!

Leave a Reply

