What are the emerging topics from teachers’ brainstorming at #twinmooc?

One of the activities of the second Unit of the Open eTwinning MOOC (#twinmooc) invited participants to share reflections on their own teaching practice on an online collaborative board on Padlet. I was one of the first who contributed my reflections to this wall – you can read my post if you scroll waaaay down (Padlet displays posts in a reverse chronological order, in other words, last post is up) – and the wall was pretty empty back then. During the first days of the operation of the wall, users were allowed to place or move their posts wherever they wanted on the wall and they could also re-size them.

I must say that this added positively to the learning experience for I had to decide both about the place and appearance of my post. What is more important, however, is that this feature added a further layer of interaction between participants for they could use their own criteria in placing their posts; I guess that at least some participants sought posts that converged with their ideas/beliefs/experiences. Another benefit for me is that one of my online peers (she is offline friend too), Angeliki Kougiourouki, used this feature to reply to my post offering her suggestions. And I replied to her too. So, there was another form of interaction on the wall. It is sad that I do not have screenshots of these early communications and interactions to show how posts intertwined (since then new posts are automatically placed neatly in an invisible grid), but I present here the three posts (my initial post, Angeliki’s reply, and my reply to her):

post1

I have to admit that since then I did not follow the wall updates regularly, but, yesterday night I spend more than two hours reading the over 100 contributions of my peers in this MOOC. This helped me develop insight into how participating teachers responded to the three main questions asked in this wall, that is, “What can I improve? What would I like to try? What am I not happy with?”, which eventually gave me the idea to create the following infographic:

teachers-brainstorming-at-twinmooc-emerging-topics

I would like to state that it is the very first infographic that I ever created, so don’t expect a perfect work as there are several things that may need improvement or could have been presented in a better way, but I feel that the conception, design, and presentation of the information was quite successful. And, in fact, it was accepted with enthusiasm by MOOC facilitators, Cristina Cris:

Diego Rojas:

and Yolanda Egea:

As you may have already have noticed I used PiktoChart to create it. The tool is indeed helpful, as it offers a basic structure to start and many templates to follow, but I think that it is not that difficult to create similar infographics in a presentation software, like Impress or PowerPoint. Perhaps I will give it a go next time 🙂

Associate teacher at the Master of Arts in Digital Technologies for Language Teaching at the University of Nottingham

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in My posts

Leave a Reply

